PGA National Awards

2009 PGA National Award Recipients

Jack Barber, PGA is Named the 2009 PGA Golf Professional of the Year 

The PGA head professional at Meridian Hills Country Club in Indianapolis, Ind., Jack Barber follows the late Don Padgett II as the only Indiana PGA Section Professionals to receive the Association's highest annual honor.

Barber is a native of Ashland, Ky., who grew up as an ardent fan of the Cincinnati Reds and didn't begin playing golf until age 14.

Playing golf until dark, putting under the lights of a car, Barber was unable to afford golf lessons. He gave up a dream to be a professional baseball player while he improved his golf skills and went on to help Russell High School finish runner-up in the 1968 Kentucky State High School Golf Championship. He then earned a golf scholarship to Eastern Kentucky University where he competed all four years and graduated in 1972. During the summer, Barber competed in the U.S. Amateur and Western Amateur Championships.

Barber was named the 1981 Kentucky PGA Horton Smith Award winner and the 1985 Kentucky PGA Golf Professional of the Year. He also served on the Kentucky PGA Board of Directors, and as Section president in 1984-85.

Since taking the job at Meridian Hills Country Club, Barber has mentored 20 assistant professionals and countless club personnel. Currently, nine of Barber's former assistants are now PGA head professionals.

In the Indiana PGA Section, Barber is a three-time Section Merchandiser of the Year award recipient; the 1993 Section Teacher of the Year; 1996 Golf Professional of the Year and the 2003 Bill Strausbaugh Award winner. Barber has served on multiple Indiana PGA Section committees and the 1985 PGA Education Committee.

Among Barber's on-course successes include his winning the 1978 Kentucky State Open, and finishing runner-up in 1979; competing from 1979 to 1986 in the PGA Professional National Championship; and capturing the 1983 Kentucky PGA Match Play Championship and the 2002 Indiana Senior PGA Championship.

Mike Bender of Lake Mary, Fla. - PGA Teacher of the Year
Vikki Vanderpool of Murfreesboro, Tenn. – PGA Junior Golf Leader
Dennis Satyshur of Timonium, Md. – Bill Strausbaugh Award
Derek Hardy of Santa Ana, Calif. – Horton Smith Award
Kyle Heyen of Arvada, Colo. – President's Plaque (for contributions to Player Development)
Andy Weissinger of Portsmouth, Va. – Patriot Award
Midwest PGA Section – Herb Graffis Award (for exemplary contributions to Player Development)
Caroline Basarab-Dennison of Hilton Head Island, S.C. – PGA Merchandisers of the Year - Resort Facilities
Nevin Phillips of St. Thomas, V.I. – PGA Merchandisers of the Year - Public Facilities
Brian Morrison of Flossmoor, Ill. – PGA Merchandisers of the Year - Private Facilities