PGA National Awards

2011 PGA National Award Recipients

Indiana PGA Professional Chip Essig Heads National Award Recipients as 2011 PGA Golf Professional of the Year 

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. - Don "Chip" Essig IV of Indianapolis, who extended a family tradition in Section leadership, administering the Rules of Golf and managing golf facilities, heads the list of 2011 PGA of America national awards as the 58th recipient of the PGA Golf Professional of the Year Award, the highest annual honor bestowed by the PGA of America on a PGA Professional.

Essig, a 21-year member of the PGA, is the PGA director of golf and owner of Hickory Stick Golf Club in Greenwood, and is the third member of the Indiana PGA Section to be so honored. He follows his father, PGA Golf Professional Hall of Famer Don Essig III - a 1984 Horton Smith Award recipient - as the second father-son combination to receive a PGA of America national award.

Chip Essig will be recognized at the PGA of America Awards, Thursday, Jan. 26, 2012, during the 59th PGA Merchandise Show at the Orange County Convention Center's Chapin Theater in Orlando, Fla. The program also will honor the following recipients:

Jeffrey Kiddie of Newtown Square, Pa. – PGA Merchandisers of the Year - Private Facilities
Susan Roll of Carlsbad, Calif. – PGA Merchandisers of the Year - Public Facilities
Hill Herrick of White Sulphur Springs, W.Va. – PGA Merchandisers of the Year - Resort Facilities
Mike Malaska of Gold Canyon, Ariz. - PGA Teacher of the Year
John Rogers of Chambersburg, Pa. - Horton Smith Award
Robert "Bob" Dolan Jr. of Chevy Chase, Md. - Bill Strausbaugh Award
Rick Grayson of Nixa, Mo. - PGA Junior Golf Leader
Brian Bain of Brookline, Mass. - President's Plaque
John Hines of Baiting Hollow, N.Y. - Patriot Award
Colorado PGA Section - Herb Graffis Award