PGA National Awards

2012 PGA National Award Recipients

Minnesota's Mike Schultz Heads Class of National Award Recipients as the 2012 PGA Golf Professional of the Year

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. – Mike Schultz, only the second PGA head professional in the history of storied Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minn., has shaped the careers of more than 40 aspiring PGA Professionals for nearly four decades. Schultz's legacy of service has elevated him to become the 58th recipient of the PGA Golf Professional of the Year Award, the highest annual honor bestowed by the PGA of America on a PGA Professional.

A 37-year member of The PGA of America, Schultz is the fourth member of the Minnesota PGA Section to be honored as the PGA Golf Professional of the Year. Schultz is retiring from his Hazeltine National post at the end of the season, pursuing other interests within the golf industry.

He will be honored during The PGA of America Awards ceremony on Jan. 24, 2013, during the 60th PGA Merchandise Show at the Orange County Convention Center's Chapin Theater in Orlando, Fla. Other national award recipents for 2013:

Michael Breed of Greenwich, Conn. – PGA Teacher of the Year
Don Law of Boca Raton, Fla. – PGA Junior Golf Leader
Harry Hammond Jr. of West Chester, Pa. – Bill Strausbaugh Award
Carl Alexander of Bedford, N.Y. – Horton Smith Award
Mark Holiday of Bozeman, Mont. – PGA Player Development Award
Amy Pendergast of Bandon, Ore. – PGA Merchandisers of the Year - Resort Facilities
Dale Smigelsky of Fort Collins, Colo. – PGA Merchandisers of the Year - Public Facilities
George Kahrhoff of Castle Rock, Colo. – PGA Merchandisers of the Year - Private Facilities
John Kennedy of New Canaan, Conn. – Patriot Award
New Jersey PGA Section – Herb Graffis Award (for exemplary contributions to Player Development)