PGA Jr. League
Youth Programs

Golf Channel to Air PGA Jr. League Championship Primetime Special on Dec. 4

For the third consecutive year, PGA REACH, Grayhawk Golf Club and National Car Rental have partnered with Golf Channel to air a two-hour, primetime special highlighting the 2018 PGA Jr. League Championship presented by National Car Rental. The program will debut Tuesday, Dec. 4, at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, with a rebroadcast at 12:30 a.m. ET/9:30 p.m. PT, and re-air Dec. 14 at 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT and Dec. 25 at 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT.

The PGA Jr. League Championship presented by National Car Rental has been hosted at Grayhawk Golf Club since 2016, and it will stay at the picturesque Scottsdale, Arizona, facility through 2022. The 2018 Championship, held Nov. 16-19, expanded to 12 teams from eight in previous years in response to the overall growth of the program. Team California (San Diego) captured the national title over Team Minnesota (Blaine) 7 ½ to 4 ½.

“Featuring the PGA Jr. League Championship presented by National Car Rental on Golf Channel is an amazing opportunity to bring awareness to the program’s fun and welcoming team format,” said PGA President Suzy Whaley. “The broadcast allows us to not only highlight the skills and celebrate the accomplishments of these 120 players and their Captains and Coaches, but also to tell their stories – and the story of PGA Jr. League – to a nationwide audience.”

Golf Channel coverage will include player features, daily highlights from each round of play and the trophy presentation following the Championship match. Golf Channel’s broadcast team for the event included Ryan Burr (play-by-play) and Tripp Isenhour (analyst), while Paige Mackenzie and Billy Ray Brown served as on-course reporters. Golf Channel social media host Alexandra O’Laughlin was onsite at Grayhawk Golf Club contributing to the network’s social media platforms, with several live activations, including interviews with those in the field.

In addition to its third year of sponsoring the primetime telecast, National Car Rental created an Emerald Club All-Star Team Zone, as well as a Parent Zone, onsite at the Championship to provide an elevated experience for attending families. National also hosted an event at Topgolf for all PGA Jr. League Championship players and their families Saturday evening.

“National is proud to support PGA Jr. League and its development of the next generation of golfers,” said Frank Thurman, vice president of marketing for National Car Rental. “We were excited to expand that support at this year’s Championship by hosting activities created to grow awareness of and participation in this great game by engaging young golfers and their families in a fun, memorable way.” 

PGA Jr. League brings friends and families together around fun, co-ed team golf experiences, with expert coaching and instruction from PGA and LPGA Professionals. Boys and girls learn and play golf in a fun and inclusive team environment, utilizing a scramble format for competition that accommodates players of all skill levels. This year, a record of over 50,000 boys and girls played on 4,200 teams nationwide, up from 42,000 kids on 3,400 teams in 2017.