Annual Meeting

New Members Named to the PGA Board of Directors

Bill Troyanoski, John Bridgeman, Nathan Charnes, Terry Russell and Tony Martinez were elected to the Board of Directors today at the 102nd PGA Annual Meeting in Indian Wells, California. Each Director will serve a three-year term. The PGA Board of Directors is composed of the Association’s President, Vice President, Secretary, Honorary President, and 17 Directors. The Directors include representatives from each of the PGA’s 14 Districts, two Independent Directors and a member of the PGA Tour. New District Directors are elected by their local PGA Sections.

Troyanoski, a PGA Member with more than 32 years of experience and a commitment to governance, will represent the Aloha, Northern California and Southern California PGA Sections as District 11 Director.

The PGA General Manager at Half Moon Bay (California) Golf Links, Troyanoski is a PGA Master Professional, the highest educational designation that can be obtained by a PGA Member. He is also a Certified Club Manager (CCM) with the Club Management Association of America (CMAA). In addition, Troyanoski currently serves on the PGA of America National Education Committee.

Troyanoski resides with his wife, Merlyn, and their two children, Sophia and Jack. Bill enjoys aviation and is a Private Instrument rated pilot. He also enjoys running and is an avid sports fan.

Bridgeman, PGA Director of Golf at Brentwood (Tennessee) Country Club, has joined the PGA Board of Directors as District 3 Director, representing the Tennessee, Gulf States and the Alabama/NW Florida PGA Sections.

Committed to volunteerism and elevating the role of PGA Members within the Section, Bridgeman began serving on the Tennessee PGA Board of Directors in 2010, which included two-year stints as Secretary, Vice President and President. The 2010 Tennessee PGA Section Golf Professional of The Year, Bridgeman served as a member of the PGA Youth Player Development Committee, where he was instrumental in the tremendous growth of programming across the Tennessee PGA. He is currently the Honorary President of the Tennessee PGA Section and also serves on the Tennessee Golf Foundation Board.

John and his wife, Lisa, live in Nolensville, Tennessee and have two daughters, Ana and Amy.

Charnes, PGA General Manager at WingHaven Country Club in O’Fallon, Missouri, was elected to the Board of Directors as District 7 Director, representing the Gateway, Midwest and South Central PGA Sections.

The son of a PGA of America Life Member, Charnes grew up in the golf industry, becoming a PGA Member in 2004. Prior to his current role at WingHaven Country Club, Charnes gained valuable experience at Oak Meadow Country Club, in Evansville, Indiana and the Links at Novadell in Hopkinsville, Kentucky.

In 2005, Charnes was named the Gateway PGA Section Assistant Professional of the Year, which served as a launching pad for his future success. Dedicated to advancing PGA Education and mentoring colleagues and assistants, Charnes was named the 2008 Gateway PGA Section Horton Smith Award recipient. In 2012, he was honored as the Gateway PGA Section Golf Professional of the Year - the Section’s highest annual honor.

Charnes previously served on the PGA Membership Committee and the PGA Member Benefits Committee, and has served as a Board Member and Officer for the Gateway PGA Section since 2010, where he is currently the Honorary President.

Charnes has been married to his wife, Eva, since 2003, and they have three children; Lilly (13 years); Nathan David (10 years); and Grace (7 years).

Russell was elected as District 6 Director, representing the Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin PGA Sections.

A PGA Teaching Professional at Cantigny Golf Academy in Wheaton, Illinois, Russell was a member of the first-ever graduating class from Ferris State University’s PGA Golf Management University program. He was elected to PGA Membership in 1981.

An accomplished player with a commitment to service and governance, Russell has been a distinguished PGA Member in the Illinois Section his entire career.

Russell’s playing career includes competing in four PGA Senior Professional Championships; two PGA Professional Championships; and the 2016 Illinois Super Senior Open Championship, where he finished as runner-up. He also qualifyed for the 1989 and 2005 PGA Tour Western Opens, while achieving top finishes in Section Tournament Events.
To complement his playing career, Russell’s commitment to volunteerism includes serving on the Illinois PGA Board of Directors for several years, highlighted by his two-year term as Section President from 2007-2008. Today, he serves on the Section’s PGA Opens and Pro-Ams Committee, Finance Committee and the Illinois Golf Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

Russell resides in Arlington Heights, Illinois, with his wife, Nancy, and son, Steven. 

Tony Martinez, PGA Director of Golf at Keeton Park Golf Course in Dallas, recently joined the PGA Board of Directors as District 12 Director. He was sworn-in to complete the term of Glenn Lee, PGA, in August, and now begins a full three-year term, representing the Northern Texas, Southern Texas and Sun Country PGA Sections.

A PGA Member since 1994, Martinez has a long history of service, highlighted by his role as President, Vice President and Secretary of the Northern Texas PGA Section (NTPGA), where he currently serves as Honorary President. Martinez has also served as Co-Chair of the PGA Teaching and Coaching Committee; and as a member of the PGA Apprentice and Public Relations Committees.

He is also Owner/Managing Director of Oeste Ranch Golf Course in Weatherford, Texas, and operator of Rolling Hills Golf Club in Tucson, Arizona.

Martinez is recognized for his expertise in golf instruction, developing junior golf programs, constructing golf courses and growing the game of golf overall.

Martinez has been widely recognized by his peers throughout the Northern Texas PGA Section, with numerous awards and accolades, including the Section’s 2017 Golf Professional of the Year; Randy Smith Junior Golf Leader (three times); and 2013 Bill Strausbaugh Award for mentorship. He is also recognized as a U.S. Kids Golf Master Instructor and a Golf Range Association of America Top 50 Growth of the Game Instructor.